My life as a spy


First, a disclaimer.

I’m not a spy, and I’ve never been one. That title was a ruse to get you to read further.

I’ve often thought I’d make a top-notch spy, though. Fair enough, I have a few qualities that would count against me, such as gullibility, extreme physical cowardice, and a shiftiness of manner that would make me stand out like a sore thumb. But none of these are flaws that a few years of intense training couldn’t eradicate.

Seriously, though. Espionage is possibly the oddest profession there is. You’re paid to deceive people, primarily. I know it involves a lot more than that, but deceit is the essence of it. It must attract a range of different personality types for all sorts of reasons, but the people who stick with it, and are good at it, must have… well, issues.

I know that’s a bald view, and quite possibly an unjustified one; so if there are any genuine spies, past or present, reading this blog, please feel free to correct me.

In the mean time, here’s a preview of the cover of my new novella, Reunion, which features some decidedly damaged spies. Set in the murk of 1970s Cold War Germany, it’s a 20,000-ish-word story of violence, betrayal… and schooldays.

Coming early June.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. If you like deceiving people away from the public glare, then you might make a good spy. If you prefer to deceive people blatently in full view of everyone then politics is a better profession

    Reply
  2. Couldn’t have put it more pithily, or accurately, myself, Kim.

    Reply
  3. In Kurt Vonnegut’s Mother Night, the protagonist’s recruiter tells him that espionage offers each agent a chance to go crazy in a way he finds irresistible.

    Reply
  4. I like that. Haven’t read much Vonnegut – no, I haven’t read any Vonnegut apart from the obvious one, Slaughterhouse-Five, which I liked a lot though probably didn’t appreciate fully as I was too young – so I’ll give it a look. I have some neo-Lovecraft to peruse first.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

